Subscribe to our free fortnightly newsletter and stay ahead with the latest news in edtech
Historian, writer and presenter Dan Snow is a Timeline 200 judge

Timeline 200 competition launched

Waterloo 200 have joined with Hungry for History to challenge schoolchildren across the UK to determine 100 defining moments

Posted by Dave Higgitt | April 09, 2015 | School life

Waterloo 200 and Hungry for History’s Timeline 200 competition is challenging young people to identify the defining historical moments from the last 200 years. Individuals, teams and schools can enter as many ‘moments’ as they wish, with the winning choices announced nationally during Michaelmas term 2015 and entered into a national hall of fame. Each winning ‘moment’ will also be awarded a certificate signed by the judges.

The competition is open to four age-groups – 7-10, 11-13, 14-16 and 17-18 – and ‘moments’ can be entered from five categories: history, nature, art, sport and science/technology. The competition is now open and the closing date is Wednesday 8 July. A panel of judges will then decide on the winning 100 moments, with 20 chosen from each of the five categories and with equal representation across the age-groups.

Historian, writer and presenter Dan Snow is a Timeline 200 judge. 'I'd like to see our history through the eyes of a child and to hear their views on our defining moments,” he said. “Children tend to have no preconceived ideas. They are very perceptive and can make some amazing observations without sugar coating because they have no reason to.”

Mike Diaper OBE, executive director, community sport, Sport England and also Timeline 200 judge, said: “This competition makes it possible to show how the study of sport can highlight past and present role models and encourage the young generation of today to find a sporting hero the love and want to aspire to.”

The judging panel also includes Sir Anthony Seldon, master of Wellington College and contemporary historian, commentator and political author; Dr Sabine Clark, president of the British Science Association’s history of science section; Professor Ian Swingland OBE PhD DSc, founder of The Durrell Institute for Conservation and Ecology; Alex Hirtzel, multi-disciplined artist and art historian and Christina Nash of Radiator Arts.

Sir Anthony Seldon said: “I have championed many causes during my career and I am delighted, in my final year as master of Wellington College, to be a judge of this groundbreaking national schools competition. I have always encouraged young people to make their own choices and Timeline 200 allows them to do exactly that.”

Subscribe to our free fortnightly newsletter and stay ahead with the latest news in edtech

Related stories

National Happiness Awards issues callout to schools

The Autumn/Winter issue of ISS is live!

Degree apprenticeships 'ideal' for many students

Market place - view all


Need a portable cabin or modular building?

We sell and hire ...


Welcome to the New School of Wireless.
Digital textbooks. Onl...

Huck nets

For over 50 years, the HUCK-Label has signified: - high-quality ne...